PM Basketball Nets Postseason Honors

The Pioneer District and Region C recently released their 2019-2020 boys basketball honor squads, and Parry McCluer was well represented on both.


The Blues landed five players on the All-Pioneer team, including a pair of first-team selections, the Player of the Year and the Coach of the Year.


After leading his team to the district’s regular-season title, Mike Cartolaro was named the Pioneer Coach of the Year, and the Blues swept the top honors when Will Dunlap, a 6-foot-4 junior, was selected by the league’s coaches as the Player of the Year.


Spencer Hamilton, a 6-foot-9 sophomore, joined Dunlap as a first-team selection.


Meanwhile, junior Talen Roberts earned second-team laurels. Freshman John Snider and junior Ethan Moore both received honorable mention consideration.


Dunlap also earned first-team All-Region C honors, while Hamilton was named the second team. Cartolaro was named the region’s Coach of the Year; Auburn’s Ethan Millirons was selected as Player of the Year.




First Team


Will Dunlap (PM), Logan Conley (NAR), Jacob Roldan (COV), Sean Flenner (BC), Spencer Hamilton (PM), Dustin Wiley (NAR), Cole Shepherd (EM), Ethan Moore (HIGH).


Second Team


Javier Young (COV), J.T. Foster (EM), Logan Miller (BC), Talen Roberts (PM), Dalton Bradley (NAR), Jake Johnson (HIGH), Jabari Williams (COV), Adam Bahnken (EM).


Honorable Mention


John Snider (PM), Sammy Akers (COV), Darieon Moore (EM), Adam Frame (NAR), Nate Nichols (CC), Matthew Morgan (NAR), Ethan Moore (PM), Colton Moore (CC).


Player of the Year: Will Dunlap (PM)

Coach of the Year: Mike Cartolaro (PM)




First Team


Ethan Millirons (Auburn), Will Dunlap (PM), Michael Royal (Auburn), Drew Hoge (Bland), Dorrien McMillian (George Wythe), Logan Conley (Narrows), Peyton Coe (George Wythe), Jacob Roland (Covington).


Second Team

Sean Flenner (Bath County), Spencer Hamilton (PM), Dustin Wiley (Narrows), Cole Shepherd (Eastern Montgomery), Ethan Moore (Highland), Keaton Beaman (Galax), Dayson McMillian (George Wythe), Cole Pickett (Galax).


Player of the Year: Ethan Millirons (Auburn)

Coach of the Year: Mike Cartolaro (PM)